A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses

Editor's Choice:

Home about administration

Share this on Facebook!

Administration in Maharashtra


Want more stories like this?

Like us on Facebook to get more!

Administration in Maharashtra

Administration in Maharashtra

Like various other Indian states Maharashtra also boasts of a systematic administration. The state has been governed by highly knowledgeable and powerful people at both local as well as district levels from the very onset and has thus emerged as one of the most well administered states in the country. Read on to have a closer look at the governing bodies and the administrative set up of the state.

Administrative Setup of Maharashtra

Let us begin by having a look at the local self governance institutions in the state’s rural areas. There are as many as 27,993 33 gram panchayats, 355 taluka panchayat samitis and 33 zilla parishads in the state. In the urban areas there are 222 municipal councils, 23 municipal corporations, 7 cantonment boards and 4 nagar panchayats.

How are the rural and urban areas administered?

A deputy commissioner is appointed to administer each district in the state. The deputy commissioner who belongs to the Indian Administrative Service heads the administration. Several officers from the Maharashtra state services are appointed to assist him. While the administration is taken care of by the aforementioned officers the deputy commissioner of police from the Indian Police Service and his team of officers from the Maharashtra police service are assigned the responsibility of maintaining law and order in the state.

The environment, wildlife and forests are taken care by the deputy conservator of forests and his team of officers from the Maharashtra Forest Subordinate Service and Maharashtra Forest Service. Likewise, different officers are appointed to take care of different departments such as Health, agriculture and education. The heads of each of these departments as well as their team of officers are well educated and informed about their respective departments.

Government and Political Structure in Maharashtra

The state has a parliamentary system of government. It has two houses that are elected democratically. These are the Legislative assembly and Legislative council. There are a total of 288 members in the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly and 78 members in the Maharashtra legislative council. The chief minister of the state heads the government. He is selected by the members of the ruling party in the legislative assembly. While the chief minister and his ministers have the legislative and executive powers, the governor is the constitutional head of the state. He is appointed for tenure of five years.

Governor of Maharashtra

Bhagat Singh Koshyari is presently the governor of Maharashtra.

Chief Minister of Maharashtra

Uddhav Thackeray

DOB: 27 July 1960
Party: Shiv Sena

Shiv Sena president Uddhav Thackeray is the 18th chief minister of Maharashtra. He heads several departments including Urban Development, General Administration, Employment & Self-employment, Home Affairs, Law & Judiciary, Tourism, Ex-Servicemen’s Welfare, Ports and Information and Public Relations.

Full List of Council of Ministers in Maharashtra

Uddhav Thackeray – Chief Minister

Eknath Shinde (Shiv Sena) – Minister

Subhash Desai (Shiv Sena) – Minister

Jayant Patil (NCP) – Minister

Chhagan Chandrakant Bhujbal (NCP) – Minister

Balasaheb Thorat (Congress) – Minister

Nitin Raut (Congress) – Minister

For more updates click here

Judicial System of Maharashtra

The judiciary in Maharashtra constitutes of the Maharashtra High Court and session and district courts in every district. The Indian president seeks advice from the governor of Maharashtra and the chief justice of the India Supreme Court before appointing the chief justice of the Maharashtrian High Court. The chief justice further appoints the other judges. Besides, there are judges and lower courts at the taluka level. Subordinate Judicial Service that is further divided into the Maharashtra civil judicial services and higher judicial service is also an important fragment of the judiciary in Maharashtra.

The Registrar General
Bombay High Court,
Fort, Mumbai -32.
Email : hcbom.mah@nic.in
Website: https://bombayhighcourt.nic.in/

Related Links

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries